Oct 282010

Level # 1

The first level involves evasion, control and restraint of an attacker with some throwing techniques, which are intended to do minimum damage to the individual who is attacking. At the first level, the student learns the square foundation before moving on to the next level or foundation of movement. The student acquires a very good knowledge of the first ten (waza) principles creating a good beginner level of defense and knowledge of the art. The student also develops their basic falling skills as well as an introduction to specific weapons. Level one also contains two person kata forms of practice and the Aikidoka is introduced to weapons training. In level one the student is also initiated into the use of their energy or Ki.

Level # 2.

The second level involves learning the circle foundation of movement and its use in the previous waza. The more advanced techniques of this level encompass the next ten principles of Hiriki Aikido. These waza are where most other styles of Aikido stop training their students. The waza gives the Hiriki Aikidoka choices to disable an attacker or neutralize the attack. Choice is always offered to the student. All Hiriki students are trained even as beginners to think of the repercussions of their choices. The student will become knowledgeable with the circle foundation at the second level, learning to integrate the circle to the previously learned principles at level one. He will also challenge himself to become more proficient in his falling arts as well as increasing his knowledge in the use of the square foundation. At level two the aikidoka is introduced to two person counter kata forms and embarks on serious weapons training. Finally, the second level student becomes more proficient with his usage of Ki. He is trained to pass level two Ki performance tests and is challenged to enhance his knowledge of more difficult Ki manipulations.

Level # 3.

At level three the student learns the triangle foundation movement and its use both in level three waza and in waza of previous levels. At level three the Hiriki aikidoka learns additional waza which can only be described as deadly force level on the force continuum. These are the forgotten techniques of the art of Aikido. The aikidoka is constantly tested to insure that his level of maturity and development is the proper state of mind for this knowledge. At level three all students are trained to pass level three Ki performance tests. At this level the student is trained to be proficient in the use of weapons. The student also learns the introductory segment to the Inner Self Development category of Hiriki Aikido.

Level # 4.

At level four the student learns the axis or line foundation. In this level the student’s abilities are improved and refined to reflect the high quality Hiriki Aikido is known for. The student also builds the skills of the more subtle teachings of Ki use.

Level # 5

At this level a command of all previous foundations, pillars and principles of Hiriki Aikido are demonstrated and polished. The student is introduced to the Point foundation or “Gen”, as it is called. This level is where the student masters Ki and weapons which includes the use of the traditional bokken and jo. This level also begins instruction in the Hiriki Tanto Kihon (Basic Knife Techniques)

Level # 6

Level six is usually for senior students who will become professional Hiriki Aikido Instructors. At this level all of the principles, pillars and foundations are demonstrated to show the student’s skill level and then polished to reflect the Hiriki Tradition of Excellence. At this level the Advanced Tanto is also learned and demonstrated by the senior student.

Share this: